IT’S BEEN A LONG LONG TIME

It’s been a long long time

since you went your way and I went mine.

I cut you loose from the moorings that held us

with nary a whimper from your lips. 

But it was me set adrift, 

Stunned into silence, rudderless and guideless,

a castaway  in a shoreless sea 

who never found a home in your heart.

Its beaten path  unravels, but mine still binds

for it always knew love is something you can’t undo.

My cameo appearance was badly miscast

fraught with too many dress rehearsals and too much past.

It’s been a long long time,

So you find your lovers, I find mine

while your world goes on without me, without fanfare or applause

 — not even a telltale ripple to ruffle the shallow surface….

And as the final curtain draws,

it doesn’t  hurt anymore–maybe a little;

 just the last gasp of my still squirming pride,

 bruised, but not yet broken.

How do I get through it when there’s no way around it?

If there’s an answer, I haven’t found it

Even though it’s been a long long time.

